Computing Awards

Each year, COMPSA chooses one student who has shown excpetional athletic ability to recieive the Athlete of the Year award.

Nature of the Award

The award shall go to a member of COMPSA who has been an active participant in COMPSA athletics.

Selection Process

The Athlete of the Year Award shall be selected by a vote of Council in a closed session, with recommendations from the Communications Commissioner, the Associations Athletics Representative, being taken into serious consideration.

Presentation of the Award

This award is presented to its recipient near the end of each year by the President and Communications Commissioner (Athletics Rep) at the End of the Year Banquet.

Past Winners

  • 2010–2011: Gordon Krull
  • 2009–2010: Daniel Basilio
  • 2008–2009: Ashwin Balu
  • 2007–2008: Ashwin Balu
  • 2006–2007: Rob Denroche

Each year, two recipients are chosen for the COMPSA President’s Award, to be presented at the End of Year Banquet. One recipient will be the member of Council who the President feels has most contributed to the betterment of the University experience for COMPSA members through their dedication and initiative. One recipient may be any member of COMPSA who has demonstrated spirit and enthusiasm for everything COMPSA.

Past Winners

  • 2012–2013: Erin Gallagher & Leif Raptis-Firsth
  • 2011–2012: Maggie Laidlaw & Leah Robert
  • 2010–2011: Adam Ali & Brian Gudmundsson
  • 2009–2010: Eril Berkok & Rob Staalduinen
  • 2008–2009: Kendric Wang & Wesley Wong
  • 2007–2008: Melissa Trezise & Anson Herriotts
  • 2006–2007: Amy Hwang & Aran Donahue